Frogs, Spiders and Other Busy Bees.

Recently, I was visiting my boyfriend and his family. He has a pond in the back garden and we spent hours sat under a blanket watching the frogs, the bees, the spiders, the flies, the fish, the birds. We spent hours just talking about nature sat next to the over-grown pond. Waterlilies and lily pad covered the majority of the water and the black, orange and yellow fish weaved between the pond weed that dominated underwater.  The waterlilies were about a metre high and covered about a metre by metre area of space. Ivy covered all the edges of the pond.

I’d been watching a frog at the opposite side of the pond and it was looking right at me. There was another frog just behind it facing the other way and another closer to us with its head resting on a lily pad. I looked away for a second and the frog had disappeared! I really wanted to know where it had gone, the one facing away and the one by the lily pad were still as stone statues. I stared at the spot where the frog had been waiting for it to come back to the surface. Eventually it did but I didn’t see it resurface. I was looking forward to watching the frogs eat because there were loads of flies and insects flying just above the water. They even went right in front of the frogs but neither of them showed any interest in them at all. Maybe they were full.

Meanwhile, there were three spiders on a web between two waterlily stems, two yellow and one brown. A yellow one was wrestling with the brown one. I thought, I bet he’s looking for a bit of fun and she’s having none of it! The brown spider managed to break free from the tangle of yellow legs and silk web and scurried off the web and into the forest of waterlily.

Then a battle of the best began. The two yellow spiders began fighting in a coil of thin yellow legs. They were fighting for quite some time when one of them surrendered the web and scurried off the one of the supporting waterlilies. The other triumphantly remained on the web for the rest of the night, the loser stayed on the side of a waterlily bud and the brown, supposed female spider, was not seen again.

There were plenty of bees about, we noticed two different types, probably from rival families. There ones which looks the typical black, yellow and fuzzy fur and the others were more brown and fluffy. It was funny watching a bee go right down into a waterlily flower to then realise that there was a bee in there already.

Sitting there among the wild, even if it was only Jack’s back garden,  made me think about the time in the future when I will have my own back garden. I thought about how I would make my garden wildlife friendly, make a pond to harbour generations of frogs and fish, plant a tree for the birds to nest in, plant a bed of flowers for busy bees to feast their eyes upon and lay down lush green grass for my family to sit under the summer Sun.

 

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/06/30/daily-prompt-nature/

About spacebearblogger

I love writing literature, astronomy, art and I like to think and debate about the society we live in. View all posts by spacebearblogger

Leave a Reply

A frolic through fiction

Looking for all the small magics of the world

Kelly's Rambles

Book reviews and other bookish delights.

Planet Hunters

A Zooniverse Project Blog

Creative Mismatch

An assorted box of chocolates :)

AMP

The latest news in science, on the industry and BRL Test!

