Compliments to the Sandwich Artist

RPLC_italian_bmt

I make many of these every day but making an order for two made my day as well as tasty sub.

There are some lovely customers that I get the pleasure to serve who are very polite when ordering and thankful when leaving the store.

I like these customers.

It makes me feel really confident in my self when one of my own customers tells me that I’ve done a good job and last night, one customer made my day.

She ordered two foot-long BTMs (pepperoni, salami and ham) with extra bacon and I served her head through to till. She complimented me on my sandwich building skills when I placed the extra bacon on the bottom side.

I asked, “Do you mind if I put it here instead?”

“Whatever is easiest for you,” she replied. She smiled at me as I placed the spicy cheese on the Hearty Italian BMT and plain cheese on the Herb and Cheese BMT.

“It’s more so that your subs aren’t too top-heavy.”

She complimented me on my thoughtfulness.

As she requested for them to be cold, I continued to the salad station. She gave me the salad orders for each sub one at a time, making comment that the first was for her other half.

“Suppose it’s good when you know his order too,” she laughed.

“I know,” I joked, “though as a Sandwich Artist my boyfriend expects me to know his order.”

As I was wrapping the sandwiches with sub wrap I asked if she’d like a bag.

She said she would, and she got two cans from the fridge while finished wrapping the second sub. When she returned to the till she realised that the sub would probably fit in her own bag as they were.

“I forget how big my bag is sometimes,” she said, lifting her large hand bag on to the counter.

“Yeah they’d fit. but they might unwrap. We used to have stickers, I don’t know why we don’t have stickers.” I said, “We should have stickers. I’ll put them both in a bag anyways then you can carry them as they are or put them in your bag if you like. I wouldn’t want them to unwrap in your bag.”

She complimented me again, “you’ve been really helpful thank you very much. Is there anyway I can make a comment?”

“I think you can go online and do a store service survey if you like, thank you very much.”

She asked if we had some sort of tips box and when I said that we didn’t she exclaimed that I’d been ever so helpful and that my service was lovely so she gave me a £1 tip. Before she left she asked for my name, and thanked me again.

I felt really happy. She was the last customer I served before I left too so I was happy on my way home too.

It’s amazing how one person’s comments, be it good or bad, can have such an impact on the way you feel.

I like to think that my customer service is good, but being told directly from a customer that you’re tip and feedback worthy made me feel brilliant. It’d be really nice if she did complete the online feedback form. They get sent to the owners of the store so then they can realise that I’m more than just a casual worker. I do put the effort in.

Well I know I try to.

About spacebearblogger

I love writing literature, astronomy, art and I like to think and debate about the society we live in. View all posts by spacebearblogger

Leave a Reply

A frolic through fiction

Looking for all the small magics of the world

Kelly's Rambles

Book reviews and other bookish delights.

Planet Hunters

A Zooniverse Project Blog

Creative Mismatch

An assorted box of chocolates :)

AMP

The latest news in science, on the industry and BRL Test!

